The Collection of Compositions from Prague Studies (1874-1875)


New product


More details

200,00 Kč

Add to wishlist

Data sheet

Width (cm) 19
Height (cm) 26.5
Depth (cm) 0.5
Weight (kg) 0.25

More info

  • accompanying text in four language versions
  • publishers‘ notes in Czech and English
  • editors: Theodora Straková, Jiří Zahrádka
  • size: 265 × 190 mm
  • half-paperback, stitched binding
  • number of pages: 104
  • editorial reference number: H 0003
  • ISMN M-66051-176-3
  • issued in December 2001

Contains compositions for a mixed choir Exaudi deus 1 and Communio Fidelis servus, mixed choir accompanied by organGraduale Speciosus forma, Introitus In festo Ss. Nominis Jesu, Benedictus, Exaudi Deus 2, organ solo Prelude for organ, Varyto for full organ, Chorale Fantasia, two sonets for four violins and Sounds in memory of Arnošt Förchgott-Tovačovský for a chamber ensemble (3 vn, va, vc, cb).

This collection of twelve compositions, created mostly during Leoš Janáček’s studies at the organ school in Prague (1874–1875), was not discovered until 1958; the music history department of the Moravian Regional Museum obtained it as a collection of manuscripts. There this assortment of Janáček’s early work was labeled as Sborník skladeb z pražských studií (A Collection of Compositions from Prague Studies), and it continues to be cited under this title in standard professional literature and musical interpretations.

With growing interest in Janáček and his works, the instrumental works of the Collection were finally produced, while some of the organ compositions were published. The Collection as such has so far remained unpublished; we present this collection of compositions as an annotated facsimile issue. The compositions, as they were created, were copied down in fine handwriting by Janáček in the large music notebooks; except for two he dated them and arranged them more or less chronologically. The compositions are written in a very neat and legible hand. The pages that remained blank are not presented. This facsimile edition is intended to meet the expectations of musicians, and to serve as a collector’s item as well.


No customer reviews for the moment.

Write a review

The Collection of Compositions from Prague Studies (1874-1875)

The Collection of Compositions from Prague Studies (1874-1875)